In Oklahoma your drivers license after DUI is placed at risk. If you have been charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Actual Physical Control (APC), you may be at risk of having your driver’s license revoked or suspended. Losing your license can severely impact your life. Finding alternative and reliable transportation to a job, attending to your kids’ activities, and doing simple tasks like running errands can be challenging.
If you have your license revoked, you cannot drive for the duration of the revocation period. The period typically begins 30 days after you learn that your license will be revoked. The length of the revocation period can range from six months to three years. This depends on the number of prior DUIs on your criminal record. Not only do you spend that time without a vehicle, but you may need additional time to reinstate your license after the revocation period. The process is often costly and can be challenging.
On November 1, 2019, Oklahoma laws changed to avoid many frustrations with license revocation and the reinstatement process.
IDAP, An Alternative To Driver’s License Revocation
Oklahoma law provides a possible alternative to revoking your license—the Impaired Driver Accountability Program (IDAP). The program applies to individuals charged with a DUI or APC on a Class D driver’s license. IDAP uses Ignition Interlock, a device placed inside your vehicle to prevent drinking and driving. When you enter your vehicle, you blow into the device’s mouthpiece to complete a breathalyzer test. Your car will start only if you have passed a breathalyzer test. If you fail the test, the car will not start.
What If You Don’t Have Your Own Vehicle
Its not uncommon for a person who just got a DUI not to have their own vehicle to put the interlock device into. Under the old laws this created a big problem because the device was only allowed in your car. With IDAP you can install the device in someone else’s car so long as there is insurance on the vehicle and you are an authorized driver. Regardless of who owns the vehicle or if you were charged with a felony or misdemeanor DUI the driver will be required to blow in the breathalyzer before it will start.
Applying To The IDAP Program in Oklahoma
Working with a criminal defense attorney can streamline the process and ensure that you meet all deadlines.
Applying to IDAP requires considerable effort in a short amount of time, so you need to move quickly. When you learn that your license will be revoked, you have 30 days to apply with the Department of Public Safety (DPS). The arrest often begins the 30 days. Once DPS accepts your application, they will postpone the revocation deadline until the 45th day. Before that day, you must complete registration with the program, pay all fees, find an approved installation center, and have the device installed. After you have completed those steps, you will be issued a restricted license.
Successfully Completing The Program
You will stay on IDAP for as long as you are required to participate. The length of time depends on multiple factors, including the number of previous DUIs, whether you have violated any rules of the IDAP program, and whether you have multiple violations. A single violation on a six-month license restriction can add 60 days to the total time. A single violation on a one-year restriction can add four months, and a single violation on a three-year restriction can add an entire year to the total time.
You are responsible for knowing what restrictions have been placed on your license. Some conditions include limited driving hours or installing cameras near the breathalyzer mouthpiece. You may still feel like the restrictions are punishments, but they provide long-term benefits if you abide by them. Successfully completing IDAP avoids a license revocation from appearing on your driving record. You can also prevent some or all license reinstatement fees and transportation difficulties.
Oklahoma IDAP Lawyers
You don’t have to lose your drivers license after DUI in Oklahoma. A DUI involves many different phases including the crime itself and what happens to your drivers license after the DUI. The IDAP program is a wonderful program but it has its problems. There are time limits for the applications and steps that you must follow or your license will be revoked. Our criminal defense attorneys are ready to help you through the IDAP process. To learn more about IDAP and how an attorney can help, reach out by calling (918) 743-2233 or contacting us online.
Tulsa's Local Criminal Defense Lawyers
Are you looking for Tulsa attorneys who will fight aggressively for you? Our team of criminal defense attorneys have the experience needed in Oklahoma law to secure the outcome you deserve.
Call us today for a free consultation 918-743-2233 or contact us online.