Hit and run crimes in Oklahoma are serious. The severity of the crime depends on several different factors. Under Oklahoma law, leaving the scene of an accident, which is often called a “hit and run”, is at minimum a misdemeanor. Anytime you are involved in a crash where your car hits another car, an object alongside the road, or a person, the law requires you to stop and stay at the scene of the accident to provide your information and follow police instructions. No matter how slight the degree of injuries or property damage may seem to be, it is never a good idea to leave the scene of a car crash without stopping to assess the situation and taking responsibility for your role in the accident, if any.
Hit And Run Crimes That Cause Damage
There are some accidents where only your car may have been involved, such as when you strike a pole, a fence, or some other object in or near the road. In this type of case you have a duty to locate the owner of the object as soon as possible, and provide a copy of your driver’s license and proof of financial security (insurance) on your vehicle. A failure to follow these rules can result in a misdemeanor charge that can result in a fine up to $500 or jail term of up to a year, or both.
Another case where an accident may not have any other people involved is when you’ve accidentally hit a parked car, with no one inside or around it. In this case, you have a duty to stop and to do your best to notify the vehicle owner of the situation. If you can’t find an owner in the area, you are allowed to leave a note at the scene with your identifying information and contact details.
If you are driving a car that is involved in an accident with another car and no one is injured, but there seems to be some property damage, you have a duty to stop at the scene and provide your name and contact information. While there is a potential criminal penalty of a misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine or up to a year in jail for failing to do your duty to stop and give your information, there is also a possibility of more severe financial consequences if you don’t do what you’re supposed to do. The law allows someone whose car is damaged by a hit and run to get up to three times the value of the damage done in the wreck in a civil court action.
Accidents That Cause Injury Or Death
While it is obvious that you have a responsibility under the law to stop and provide important information after any car accident that has caused any kind of damage, it is especially critical that you follow your duty to stop where the accident results in an injury or death to anyone. In this case, someone must call the police to the scene, and everyone involved must remain at the scene for the investigation. Failing to stop and try to help and offer your information to the police in such a case is a serious crime. You can face a felony charge that is punishable by a prison term of up to two years, or by a fine of up to $1,000, or both.
Tulsa Hit And Run Attorneys
The hit and run attorneys at Kania Law Office are experienced at helping the accused defend against criminal charges including hit and runs. We are here for you. If you were involved in a hit and run in Oklahoma, then you should get in touch with the Tulsa criminal defense lawyers at Kania Law Office by calling (918) 743-2233 or by contacting us online.
Tulsa's Local Criminal Defense Lawyers
Are you looking for Tulsa attorneys who will fight aggressively for you? Our team of criminal defense attorneys have the experience needed in Oklahoma law to secure the outcome you deserve.