Driving Without Owners Insurance Verification Form

Driving Without Insurance

Driving Without Insurance on your car or truck In Oklahoma is a serious traffic ticket. The vehicle code reads it’s unlawful to drive without a valid and current security verification form or equivalent form which has been issued by the Department of Public Safety. If you’re facing a traffic ticket our Tulsa traffic ticket lawyers can help you.

Punishment for Driving Without Owners Insurance in Tulsa

Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 7-606

Driving without a valid and current security verification form is a misdemeanor punishable by up to thirty (30) days imprisonment and/or a fine, and shall additionally be subject to suspension of license and registration.

Title 47. Motor Vehicles Chapter 7 – Financial Responsibility Article
Article 6 – Compulsory Liability Insurance
Section 7-606 – Failure to Maintain Security – Failure to Provide Proof of Security – Penalties – Sunset Provision

A.

1. An owner or operator who fails to comply with the Compulsory Insurance Law of this state, or who fails to produce for inspection a valid and current security verification form or equivalent form which has been issued by the Department of Public Safety upon request of any peace officer, representative of the Department of Public Safety or other authorized person, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be subject to a fine of not more than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00), or imprisonment for not more than thirty (30) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment, and in addition thereto, shall be subject to suspension of license and registration in accordance with Section 7-605 of this title.

2. An owner other than an owner of an antique or a classic automobile as defined by the Oklahoma Tax Commission who files an affidavit that a vehicle shall not be driven upon the public highways or public streets, pursuant to Section 7-607 of this title, who drives or permits the driving of the vehicle upon the public highways or public streets, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be subject to a fine of not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or imprisonment for not more than thirty (30) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment, and in addition thereto, shall be subject to suspension of license and registration in accordance with Section 7-605 of this title.

B. A sentence imposed for any violation of Section 7-600 et seq. of this title may be suspended or deferred in whole or in part by the court.

C. Any person producing proof in court that a current security verification form or equivalent form which has been issued by the Department reflecting liability coverage for such person was in force at the time of the alleged offense shall be entitled to dismissal of such charge upon payment of court costs; however, if proof of security verification is presented to the court by the assigned court appearance date, the charge shall be dismissed without payment of court costs. D. Upon conviction, bond forfeiture or deferral of sentence, the court clerk shall forward an abstract to the Department of Public Safety within ten (10) days reflecting the action taken by the court.

Traffic Ticket Attorneys in Tulsa

Driving Without Insurance in Oklahoma can really cost you. Not only is the ticket expensive a violation could potentially land you in jail. Our Tulsa traffic ticket attorneys can help. We can help reduce the ticket and potentially get you back your drivers license.

Tulsa's Local Criminal Defense Lawyers

Law ScaleAre you looking for Tulsa attorneys who will fight aggressively for you? Our team of criminal defense attorneys have the experience needed in Oklahoma law to secure the outcome you deserve.

Call us today for a free consultation 918-743-2233 or contact us online.