Reckless driving is a serious traffic violation in Oklahoma. The Okla driving statutes describe the crime saying it’s unlawful to drive in a manner which is careless, wanton or reckless way or in disregard of other persons and property. A citation involving reckless driving is often issued on facts determined solely by the Police. Its not unusual for an overly zealous police officer to over charge a traffic ticket. Our traffic ticket attorney know what to do.
Punishment For Reckless Driving in Tulsa
Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 11-901
First Offense – is punishable by five (5) to ninety (90) days imprisonment and/or by a fine between $100 and $500.
Second Offense – A second or subsequent conviction is punishable by imprisonment between ten (10) days and six (6) months and/or by a fine between $150 and $1,000.
Title 47. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 11 – Rules of the Road Article
Article 9 – Reckless Driving, Driving While Intoxicated, and Negligent Homicide
Section 11-901 – Reckless Driving
A. It shall be deemed reckless for any person to drive a motor vehicle in a careless or wanton manner without regard for the safety of persons or property or in violation of the conditions outlined in Section 11-801 of this title.
B. Every person convicted of driving recklessly shall be punished upon a first conviction by imprisonment for a period of not less than five (5) days nor more than ninety (90) days, or by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment; on a second or subsequent conviction, punishment shall be imprisonment for not less than ten (10) days nor more than six (6) months, or by a fine of not less than One Hundred Fifty Dollars ($150.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment.
Tulsa Traffic Ticket Attorney Near You
If you’ve been charged with a serious traffic violation in Oklahoma we can help. Traffic tickets seem simple until you get the bill. Not only are there fines and costs due to the state but your insurance can be impacted. Don’t pay for a simple mistake. Call us at 918-743-2233