In Oklahoma, it is unlawful to willfully or maliciously engage in enabling child neglect by causing, procuring or permitting of a willful or malicious act of child neglect of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another.
Punishment for Enabling Child Neglect in Tulsa
Okla. Stat. tit. 21 § 843.5(D)
Enabling child neglect is punishable by up to life imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections, or up to one (1) year imprisonment in a county, and/or by a fine between $500 and $5,000.
Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 30 – Oklahoma Child Abuse Reporting and Prevention Act
Section 843.5 – Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation, or Sexual Abuse of Child – Penalties
D. Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in enabling child neglect shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “enabling child neglect” means the causing, procuring or permitting of a willful or malicious act of child neglect, as defined by paragraph 47 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another. As used in this subsection, “permit” means to authorize or allow for the care of a child by an individual when the person authorizing or allowing such care knows or reasonably should know that the child will be placed at risk of neglect as proscribed by this subsection.
Child neglect can be a serious problem. Even if you aren’t the main perpetrator, you could be enabling the neglect. Get in touch with one of our qualified attorneys today who can help with your case. Call us at 918-743-2233.