In Oklahoma, it is unlawful to willfully or maliciously engage in neglect of a child under eighteen (18) years of age. This is just one of many crimes against children in Oklahoma. If you’ve been charged with a crime involving children, our team can help you. We help people who are facing criminal charges in Oklahoma. If this sounds like you read on. Otherwise feel free to browse our criminal law blog.
Punishment for Crime Child Neglect in Tulsa
Okla. Stat. tit.21 § 843.5(C).
A violation of § 843.5(c) in Oklahoma is punishable by up to life imprisonment in the Department of Corrections, or up to one (1) year imprisonment in a county jail, and/or by a fine of $500 and $5,000.
Title 21. Crimes and Punishments. Chapter 30 – Miscellaneous Offenses Against the Person Section 843.5 – Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation, or Sexual Abuse of Child – Penalties
C. Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in child neglect shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or both such fine and imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “child neglect” means the willful or malicious neglect, as defined by paragraph 47 of Section 1-1-105 of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another.
Tulsa Criminal Defense Lawyers
If you’ve been charged with a crime in Oklahoma you need legal representation. Look no further. We’ve been helping clients for decades now and will be in your corner every step of the way. Don’t go in alone. Call us today at 918-743-2233.