Enabling child abuse is a serious crime In Oklahoma. Just like all crimes, for the prosecutor to have a case they must prove each element of the crime. If they fail to do this the charge will be dismissed. The statute sets out that its unlawful to enable child abuse by causing, procuring or permitting a willful or malicious act of child abuse by another.
Punishment For Conviction of Enabling Child Abuse in Tulsa
Enabling child abuse is punishable by up to life imprisonment Department of Corrections, or up to one (1) year in a county jail, and/or a fine $500 and $5,000. The statute below further clarifies the penalties of this crime.
Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 30 – Miscellaneous Offenses Against the Person
Section 843.5 – Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation, or Sexual Abuse of Child – Penalties
B. Any parent or other person who shall willfully or maliciously engage in enabling child abuse shall, upon conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections not exceeding life imprisonment, or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year, or by a fine of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) or both such fine and imprisonment. As used in this subsection, “enabling child abuse” means the causing, procuring or permitting of a willful or malicious act of child abuse, as defined by paragraph 1 of subsection B of Section 7102 of this title, of a child under eighteen (18) years of age by another. As used in this subsection, “permit” means to authorize or allow for the care of a child by an individual when the person authorizing or allowing such care knows or reasonably should know that the child will be placed at risk of abuse as proscribed by this subsection.
Tulsa's Local Criminal Defense Lawyers
Are you looking for Tulsa attorneys who will fight aggressively for you? Our team of criminal defense attorneys have the experience needed in Oklahoma law to secure the outcome you deserve.