In Oklahoma, it is unlawful to commit any domestic assault and battery in the physical presence of a minor child or with knowledge that a child is present and may see or hear an act of domestic violence. The punishments for domestic assault in the presence of a minor child are very serious in Oklahoma.
Punishment for Domestic assault and battery in Tulsa
Okla. Stat. tit. 21 § 644(E)
First Offense – The first offense of domestic assault and battery in Oklahoma in the presence of a minor child is punishable by between six (6) months and one (1) year imprisonment in the county jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000. Additionally, a defendant shall be ordered to undergo treatment/counseling.
Second Offense – A second offense is punished by between one (1) and five (5) years imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections, and/or a fine of up to $7,000. Additionally, a defendant shall be ordered to undergo treatment/counseling.
Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 20 – Assault and Battery
Section 644 – Punishment for Assault and Battery
E. Any person convicted of domestic abuse as defined in subsection C of this section that was committed in the presence of a child shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than six (6) months nor more than one (1) year, or by a fine not exceeding Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment. Any person convicted of a second or subsequent domestic abuse as defined in subsection C of this section that was committed in the presence of a child shall be punished by imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for not less than one (1) year nor more than five (5) years, or by a fine not exceeding Seven Thousand Dollars ($7,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment. The provisions of Section 51.1 of this title shall not apply to any second or subsequent offense. For every conviction of domestic abuse, the court shall:
1. Specifically order as a condition of a suspended sentence or probation that a defendant participate in counseling or undergo treatment to bring about the cessation of domestic abuse as specified in paragraph 2 of this subsection;
a. The court shall require the defendant to participate in counseling or undergo treatment for domestic abuse by an individual licensed practitioner or a domestic abuse treatment program certified by the Attorney General. If the defendant is ordered to participate in a domestic abuse counseling or treatment program, the order shall require the defendant to attend the program for a minimum of fifty-two (52) weeks, complete the program, and be evaluated before and after attendance of the program by a program counselor or a private counselor.
b. A program for anger management, couples counseling, or family and marital counseling shall not solely qualify for the counseling or treatment requirement for domestic abuse pursuant to this subsection. The counseling may be ordered in addition to counseling specifically for the treatment of domestic abuse or per evaluation as set forth below. If, after sufficient evaluation and attendance at required counseling sessions, the domestic violence treatment program or licensed professional determines that the defendant does not evaluate as a perpetrator of domestic violence or does evaluate as a perpetrator of domestic violence and should complete other programs of treatment simultaneously or prior to domestic violence treatment, including but not limited to programs related to the mental health, apparent substance or alcohol abuse or inability or refusal to manage anger, the defendant shall be ordered to complete the counseling as per the recommendations of the domestic violence treatment program or licensed professional;
a. The court shall set a review hearing no more than one hundred twenty (120) days after the defendant is ordered to participate in a domestic abuse counseling program or undergo treatment for domestic abuse to assure the attendance and compliance of the defendant with the provisions of this subsection and the domestic abuse counseling or treatment requirements.
b. The court shall set a second review hearing after the completion of the counseling or treatment to assure the attendance and compliance of the defendant with the provisions of this subsection and the domestic abuse counseling or treatment requirements. The court shall retain continuing jurisdiction over the defendant during the course of ordered counseling through the final review hearing;
4. The court may set subsequent or other review hearings as the court determines necessary to assure the defendant attends and fully complies with the provisions of this subsection and the domestic abuse counseling or treatment requirements;
5. At any review hearing, if the defendant is not satisfactorily attending individual counseling or a domestic abuse counseling or treatment program or is not in compliance with any domestic abuse counseling or treatment requirements, the court may order the defendant to further or continue counseling, treatment, or other necessary services. The court may revoke all or any part of a suspended sentence, deferred sentence, or probation pursuant to Section 991b of Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes and subject the defendant to any or all remaining portions of the original sentence;
6. At the first review hearing, the court shall require the defendant to appear in court. Thereafter, for any subsequent review hearings, the court may accept a report on the progress of the defendant from individual counseling, domestic abuse counseling, or the treatment program. There shall be no requirement for the victim to attend review hearings; and
7. If funding is available, a referee may be appointed and assigned by the presiding judge of the district court to hear designated cases set for review under this subsection. Reasonable compensation for the referees shall be fixed by the presiding judge. The referee shall meet the requirements and perform all duties in the same manner and procedure as set forth in Sections 7003-8.6 and 7303-7.5 of Title 10 of the Oklahoma Statutes pertaining to referees appointed in juvenile proceedings. The defendant may be required to pay all or part of the cost of the counseling or treatment, in the discretion of the court. F. As used in subsection E of this section, “in the presence of a child” means in the physical presence of a child; or having knowledge that a child is present and may see or hear an act of domestic violence. For the purposes of subsections C and E of this section, “child” may be any child whether or not related to the victim or the defendant.
Tulsa Assault Lawyers
This kind of crime can cause you huge problems. The truth of the matter is that domestic assault and battery is a crime of passion. In this kind of charge there are many sides to the story. Its even possible that neither party wanted to press charges but the Police did what the Police do. If you’re facing domestic assault charges get ahead of the case. Don’t talk to the Police and call our Tulsa assault lawyers today.
Tulsa's Local Criminal Defense Lawyers
Are you looking for Tulsa attorneys who will fight aggressively for you? Our team of criminal defense attorneys have the experience needed in Oklahoma law to secure the outcome you deserve.
Call us today for a free consultation 918-743-2233 or contact us online.