Assault

Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Assault is usually accompanied with the crime of battery but can be a crime by itself. In Oklahoma, it is illegal to willfully and unlawfully attempt or offer with force or violence to do a corporal hurt to another. Depending on the severity of the conduct, this crime can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. Getting a skilled and persistent attorney to advocate your side can mean the difference between a prison sentence and a dismissal of all charges.

Punishment for Assault in Tulsa

Okla. Stat. tit. 21 § 641

The crime of assault is punishable by up to thirty (30) days imprisonment in a county jail, and/or a fine of up to $500.

Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 20 – Assault and Battery
Section 641 – Definition of Assault

[A]ny willful and unlawful attempt or offer with force or violence to do a corporal hurt to another.

Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 20 – Assault and Battery
Section 644 – Punishment for Assault and Battery

This crime is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding thirty (30) days, or by a fine of not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment.

Simple battery is a misdemeanor in Oklahoma. It is an unlawful beating, or use of wrongful physical violence or constraint upon the person of another, without that person’s consent.

Tulsa Criminal Defense Attorneys

The penalties for assault can be harsh. You definitely want to avoid these punishments. The best way to do this is hiring an experienced criminal attorney who knows the law. Our team of Tulsa Criminal Lawyers have been represent clients who have been charged with a crime.

Tulsa's Local Expungement Lawyers

Law ScaleAre you looking for Tulsa attorneys who will fight aggressively for you? Our team of expungement attorneys have the experience needed in Oklahoma law to secure the outcome you deserve.

Call us today for a free consultation 918-743-2233 or contact us online.