Obtaining Merchandise By Bogus Check

In Oklahoma, it is unlawful to make, draw, utter or deliver false or bogus checks, drafts or orders.

Punishment for Obtaining Merchandise by Bogus Check in Tulsa

Okla. Stat. tit. 21 § 1541-3

If Multiple Instruments Amount to $1,000 or More – If two or more such instruments are written the total sum of which is $1,000 or more, the defendant is guilty of a felony punishable by ten (10) years imprisonment in the State Penitentiary , and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

If Multiple Instruments Amount to More Than $5,000 but less than $1,000 – If two or more such instruments are written, the total sum of which is more than $500 but less than $1,000, the defendant is guilty of a felony punishable by up to one (1) year incarceration in the county jail or one or more nights or weekends in the county jail as well as a fine of up to $5,000 at the option of the court to be paid as restitution to the victim.

Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 61 – Frauds, Cheats, False Pretenses, and False Personations
Section 1541.3 – False or Bogus Checks, Drafts, or Orders – Penalty

Any person making, drawing, uttering or delivering two or more false or bogus checks, drafts or orders, as defined by Section 1541.4 of this title, the total sum of which is One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) or more, even though each separate instrument is written for less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), all in pursuance of a common scheme or plan to cheat and defraud, shall be deemed guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for a term not more than ten (10) years, or by a fine not to exceed Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment. If the total sum of two or more false or bogus checks, drafts or orders is Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) or more, but less than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), the person shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by incarceration in the county jail for not more than one (1) year or by incarceration in the county jail one or more nights or weekends pursuant to Section 991a-2 of Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes, at the option of the court, and shall be subject to a fine of not more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) and ordered to provide restitution to the victim as provided in Section 991a of Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

 

Tulsa's Local Expungement Lawyers

Law ScaleAre you looking for Tulsa attorneys who will fight aggressively for you? Our team of expungement attorneys have the experience needed in Oklahoma law to secure the outcome you deserve.

Call us today for a free consultation 918-743-2233 or contact us online.