Carrying A Concealed Weapon

Carrying a Concealed Weapon

Carrying a Concealed Weapon can get you into legal trouble.  In Oklahoma, it is generally unlawful for any person to carry any pistol, revolver, shotgun or rifle whether loaded or unloaded or any blackjack, loaded cane, hand chain, metal knuckles, or any other offensive weapon, whether such weapon be concealed or unconcealed.

There are exceptions for:

  • Proper use of guns and knives for hunting, fishing, education, or recreational purposes.
  • When authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act or other statute.
  • etc.

Punishment for Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Tulsa

The punishments for unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon can include fines, imprisonment, and suspension of your handgun license. Before carrying a concealed weapon make sure you know the law to avoid these punishments. 

First Offense – The first offense is a misdemeanor punishable by up to thirty (30) days imprisonment in the county jail and/or a fine $100 and $250.

Second Offense – A second or any subsequent offense is punishable by between thirty (30) days and three (3) months in county jail and/or by a fine between $250 and $500.

Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 53 – Manufacture, Sale, and Wearing of Weapons
Section 1272 – Unlawful Carry

A. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, it shall be unlawful for any person to carry upon or about his or her person, or in a purse or other container belonging to the person, any pistol, revolver, shotgun or rifle whether loaded or unloaded or any blackjack, loaded cane, hand chain, metal knuckles, or any other offensive weapon, whether such weapon be concealed or unconcealed, except this section shall not prohibit:

1. The proper use of guns and knives for self-defense, hunting, fishing, educational or recreational purposes;

2. The carrying or use of weapons in a manner otherwise permitted by statute or authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act;

3. The carrying, possession and use of any weapon by a peace officer or other person authorized by law to carry a weapon in the performance of official duties and in compliance with the rules of the employing agency;

4. The carrying or use of weapons in a courthouse by a district judge, associate district judge or special district judge within this state, who is in possession of a valid handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act and whose name appears on a list maintained by the Administrative Director of the Courts;

5. The carrying and use of firearms and other weapons provided in this subsection when used for the purpose of living history reenactment. For purposes of this paragraph, “living history reenactment” means depiction of historical characters, scenes, historical life or events for entertainment, education, or historical documentation through the wearing or use of period, historical, antique or vintage clothing, accessories, firearms, weapons, and other implements of the historical period; or

6. The carrying of a firearm, concealed or unconcealed, loaded or unloaded, by a person who is twenty-one (21) years of age or older or by a person who is eighteen (18) years of age but not yet twenty-one (21) years of age and the person is a member or veteran of the United States Armed Forces, Reserves or National Guard or was discharged under honorable conditions from the United States Armed Forces, Reserves or National Guard, and the person is otherwise not disqualified from the possession or purchase of a firearm under state or federal law and is not carrying the firearm in furtherance of a crime.

Except as provided in subsection B of Section 1283 of this title, a person who has been convicted of any one of the following offenses in this state or a violation of the equivalent law of another state:

a. assault and battery pursuant to the provisions of Section 644 of this title which caused serious physical injury to the victim,

b. aggravated assault and battery pursuant to the provisions of Section 646 of this title,

c. assault and battery that qualifies as domestic abuse as defined in Section 644 of this title,

d. stalking pursuant to the provisions of Section 1173 of this title,

e. a violation of an order issued under the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act or a domestic abuse protection order issued by another state, or

f. a violation relating to illegal drug use or possession under the provisions of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act,

shall be prohibited from carrying a firearm under the provisions of this paragraph. Any person who carries a firearm in the manner provided for in this paragraph shall be prohibited from carrying the firearm into any of the places prohibited in subsection A of Section 1277 of this title or any other place currently prohibited by law. Nothing in this section shall modify or otherwise change where a person may legally carry a firearm.

B. Any person convicted of violating the foregoing provision shall be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable as provided in Section 1276 of this title.

Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 53 – Manufacture, Sale, and Wearing of Weapons
Section 1276 – Penalty for 1272 and 1273

Any person violating the provisions of Section 1272 or 1273 shall, upon a first conviction, be adjudged guilty of a misdemeanor and the party offending shall be punished by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed thirty (30) days or both such fine and imprisonment. On the second and every subsequent violation, the party offending shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not less than thirty (30) days nor more than three (3) months, or by both such fine and imprisonment. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of Section 1272 or 1273 after having been issued a concealed handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, Sections 1 through 25 of this act, shall have the license suspended for a period of six (6) months and shall be liable for an administrative fine of Fifty Dollars ($50.00) upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.

Tulsa's Local Expungement Lawyers

Law ScaleAre you looking for Tulsa attorneys who will fight aggressively for you? Our team of expungement attorneys have the experience needed in Oklahoma law to secure the outcome you deserve.

Call us today for a free consultation 918-743-2233 or contact us online.